Screenshot comparison of four Linux-based PBX GUI’s – Extension options

This is not really an article, I’m just posting it here for future reference.  It’s a screenshot comparison of four currently available and free web-based PBX GUI configuration programs that run under Linux, concentrating on the individual extension options.  If an extension needed to be created to expose more options, I did that, though it’s still possible I may have missed something.  Also these images are cropped to try to keep them somewhat readable, which means that in some cases the Submit or Apply Changes, etc. button at the bottom of the page, as well as side menus and some graphics are omitted.  Click on any image to enlarge.  The first two are from FreePBX, the third from FusionPBX (after the “Show Advanced” button is clicked), numbers 4, 5, and 6 are from blue.box (2600Hz), and the last one from FreeSentral (yes, that really is all the options there are for an extension, unless there is some super-hidden menu that I didn’t find).

 

############################################################

############################################################

############################################################

############################################################

############################################################

############################################################

4 Comments

  1. dat said

    how call between 2 servers. I do not know how configure freesentral?

  2. dat, I don’t think anyone does. The major problem most of these projects have (except for the one I personally dislike the most, which of course is currently the most popular one) is a lack of good documentation that walks you through how to do basic things like set up an extension, or a connection (trunk) to a provider, or route inbound and outbound calls. In fact it’s so bad right now that when you attempt to go to the wiki for one of the projects (blue.box), you wind up on a site devoted to a completely different product from the same company, and it takes some effort to ferret out where the original site has gone.

    Obviously you have to write the software before you write the documentation, but at some point you need the documentation as well. I wish I had a spare server to put up one of these projects, I might even have a go at it (though it might take me months, and I’d probably choose FusionPBX rather than FreeSentral because their GUI seems to be best developed at this point), but I have figured out that using VirtualBox on a Mac causes partial network failure several hours after use. This has been repeatable for me – fire up VirtualBox and open a virtual machine, the networking is fine. Work on it for an hour or two, close VirtualBox, the network is still fine. Come back several hours later and anything networked using Bonjour or Apple File Protocol has disappeared, and only a reboot will bring it back. And I do not like having to wait for this system to reboot!

    One thing I’d like to see is someone put a full FusionPBX build on a Raspberry Pi, similar to what the PBX in a Flash folks have done with Asterisk and The Software That I Have Come To Hate. That could tip the balance for any of these projects (except maybe FreeSentral, which IMHO is much too “barebones” to actually be usable at this point in time), but FusionPBX looks to be about the best implementation that does not rely on Asterisk, at least right at the moment.

  3. dat said

    thanks you for sharing many useful thing with me and everyone.I am very glad because your sharing is useful. My english is not good enough to say so much.hihi.. With me, i think you dislike freesentral because one of reasons is the document of the support. Me,too. I have installed FusionPBX by livecd(x86-64) but not run. I am trying to download i386 of iso.(http://wiki.fusionpbx.com/index.php?title=Ubuntu_ISO) I hope it can run by GUI.
    I want use yate. Can anyone help me about how configure call between 2 server?
    and Do anyone know which PBX is many support as Asterisk?
    Thanks Michigan again.^__^

  4. Sorry about the Blue.Box documentation. We have been redoing our Wiki for both our Blue.Box and Kazoo project, and some redirects have been not working. Hope to get this fixed ASAP.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

